Developing Athletes Recieve Direct Funding through NNF Grants

The National Nordic Foundation (NNF) is excited to announce the awarding of Athlete Support Grants to 16 skiers that represent the breadth, and depth, of talent among the next generation of American skiers.

NNF Athlete Support Grants are intended to boost committed athletes who exhibit a propensity for international racing success as a nordic athlete, and face circumstances critical to that mission that require support beyond categories captured in our Pillar Projects.

This NNF Athlete Grant cycle saw an especially talented application pool, drawing from a diverse set of US ski communities. The selection committee overseeing this grant cycle was comprised of NNF Board members Sophie Caldwell Hamilton, Kikkan Randall and Colin Rodgers, who, with the backing of our generous supporters, were able to award a total of $20,000 in NNF grant funding among the recipients.

The cross-section of NNF grantees demonstrates US Skiing’s growing success at developing internationally competitive nordic skiers. Represented among those selected for funding are skiers with World Cup starts, top World Junior Championships finishes, OPA Cup podiums, and U18 Nordic Nation’s Cup wins. The breadth of programs with athletes receiving funding geographically spans from New England to Alaska, and includes clubs and schools from the junior, collegiate, and elite level. Taken together, the NNF Athlete Support Grants awarded this cycle point towards an auspicious future for US skiing, and the continued success of supporting our developing athletes on a national scale through NNF.

(Photo: Image courtesy FlyingPoint Road/Steve Fuller)


Athletes Receiving NNF Individual Athlete Support Grant


Brian Bushey (University of Utah; Craftsbury)

Derek “Buster” Richardson (Alaska Pacific University; Plain Valley Nordic Team)

Haley Brewster (University of Vermont; Ski and Snowboard Club Vail)

Michael Earnhart (Alaska Pacific University)

Walker Hall (University of Utah; Methow Valley Nordic Team)

William Koch (University of Colorado; Stratton Mountain School)

Ava Thurston (Dartmouth College; Mansfield Nordic Club)

Max Kluck (University of Utah; Bridger Ski Foundation)

Sammy Smith (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)

Jack Lange (Dartmouth College; Stratton Mountain School)

Nina Schamberger (University of Utah; Team Summit Nordic)

Fin Bailey (Stratton Mountain School)

Tabor Greenberg (Green Mountain Valley School)

Rose Horning (Ski and Snowboard Club Vail)

Lena Poduska (Jackson Hole Ski Club)

Neve Gerard (Mt. Bachelor Sports Education Foundation)


Share This